A world without…

image

What would this World be without a….

Friend?

Adviser?

Teacher?

Helper?

Equalizer?

Reassurer?

Growing up in my eyes he could do no wrong,
A large powerful figure that protected us from harm,
The days and nights I spent in his care,
Today, like other days I still wish he was here.
You see the man I called Dad was far from perfect,
But he knew, I knew that even with mistakes his presence was worth it,
While we had rough times and modest living arrangements,
I knew that my Father would ensure we Made it,
‘Education is the Key to Success’ was a frequent saying,
‘Boy stay outta trouble’ with a tone indicating he wasn’t playing,
I still remember him calling himself cooking,
While me and my sister would stand-off looking,
Lord knows he wasn’t much of a chef,
but we would eat happily knowing the attempt was his best,
The man I remember many would call a ‘workaholic’
But I knew he just wanted to be a great provider.
While my father wasn’t much for ‘I love you Son’,
He often assured me he was and would be proud of what I would become.
I still remember being out with him and he would brag,
About the wonderful Son & Daughter he was proud to have,
He would ensure to attend the significant events we had.
and it wasn’t right unless he was recording so the memories would last.
I remember when he would come up to my college,
and be proud that I was in a place acquiring  knowledge,
and even while I was away he would still say,
Boy I need you to come work with me today‘…lol
Winter 2009 came,
and that winter change everything–nothing was the same,
He asked me to take a ride with him to Einstein Hospital,
After the news we received there I asked God ‘how was this possible?’
STAGE IV Cancer was his diagnosis,
and for the first time I feared losing someone I felt was closest,
I’d be a fraud if I told you I held the tears in,
and even then He was still comforting me….as a Father…As a friend.
When we left the hospital after that news,
He told me ‘I ain’t dying…not this soon‘,
Once we arrived in front of my house he reassured me he would tough it out.
but before he drove off he informed me it was something we should talk about.
you’re the best of me‘ was the words that stood out the most,
‘and if it is my time I love you and your sister both.’
Death would come to visit him not long after,
2010 Summer was my darkest chapter.
But I’m still here, the best of him remains –Me, and now a new chapter
I sit here today Blessed with lifelong Memories,
Of a Man, the Man that Raised me.
-RIP Berrick G. Collins
For those of you that have/had a Father,
Even those that have/had but know/knew him not,
Understand that You Are because He Was.
No Man is perfect,
But Salute to those that ensure their children feel worth it
….because what is a world Without FATHERS?

HAPPY FATHERS DAY

Leave a comment